395 square feet of living .Thoughts on mortgage free America .

As I sit in my 395 square feet of air conditioned furnished mobile living space I ponder long term living here. At a fraction of the space I am used to living in its very efficient use space just a whole lot less. Can I fit everything in here I want to keep with me? I really feel like the bigger house is a waste of space for us now cost of maintaining and heating as well as payments and taxes insurance . What am I really housing here anyway? A lot of stuff I don’t use daily ,weekly or even monthly. I will save lots of money if I’m in an rv park I can live for $4000 to $5000 a year that’s $10 to $14 dollars a day ! Compared to $55 a day now.not counting repairs.

My new address will be 30 seconds from the beach ! I like that ! There will be lots to do kayaking , sailing,diving,biking , hiking, clamming , fishing campfires on the beach. I could buy a lot about a mile from the water and set up camp more permanently. With a yard and more privacy it would pay for its self in 6 or 7 years. I could spread out more and have some indoor out door living . Now the kids and grand kids can visit easier. Overall I’ll be debt free and my cost of living will be a fraction of what it was leaving me with a lot more time and money in an area I can explore for years to come.Eventually I can build a small cottage ( 400 square feet or so )and keep the r.v. For a guest house.

I am not telling you all this to brag but to show what’s possible if your interested in a Change . Thanks for listening I hope this inspires you to take action for yourself . Get out of the rat race and as always this brought to you from the people for a mortgage free America .

8 responses to “395 square feet of living .Thoughts on mortgage free America .

  1. Thank you so much for making all of your videos and write-ups! This is helping a lot with our planning of the off-grid cabin.

    Incase anyone out there needs to prove to themselves that this is do-able. I found the best way to prove to myself how much I would save by living in the woods off-grid (Still with solar and water, etc.) was by making a monthly budget for living in our apartment (average of Jan, July , Sept) and compare it to an over estimated budget for living off-grid in a small cabin built by us.

    It’s amazing that it was still cheaper to live off-grid in the woods in nature away from the tension of city life. This was including: buying land and a second-hand 4×4 truck, building a cabin that uses solar power, all of the fuel required to build and travel back and forth to the city for my job and Tasha’s job.

    Just recently Tasha and I have put our plans in motion to get out of cities for at least 6 months every year.

    Thanks again Kevin!

    Billy

  2. Kevin, I went through the process of downsizing some years ago. Though I owned a large home at the time, I knew that I mostly used a small portion of my home to “live in”. Too, I wanted to change my lifestyle. I sold my home, bought a travel trailer (now replaced with a tiny home on wheels!) and began working from my laptop to generate an income. I have never had such a terrific lifestyle, had more money or been more flexible. I am sure others who make the change will be very grateful they did. There is simply no reason to be a slave to the mortgage company.

  3. Kevin, I would love to try this. I’m hearing that getting beach property for something like this is becoming more difficult. Any advice?

  4. Kevin great content. We really would appreciate your help with specifics. We are struggling and in a serious search mode for the type of beAch accessible property you a ‘re describing. Please suggest communities we should look at. Thank you Suzanne

Leave a Reply

